Uncategorized

Organic pick-me-up

Its Thursday afternoon and it feels like I’m dragging my mind and body much like a dead horse towards Friday. Its pretty much the same feeling every Thursday afternoon after an intense week of work. The weekend and the thought of chilling out on the beach with a book doesn’t seem to get here fast enough.

So I’m off to the Heritage (organic) Garden to see what I can find to make myself a natural pick-me-up. If I remember correctly, Robin (Nature Seychelles’ Eco-Health Manager) had picked some coconuts this morning and I suspect that not-so-clear liquid in the jug on the fridge door is coconut water.

Now I just need to go and pick a lime and a few sprigs of mint from the garden. Ah yes, a coconut mint sounds like just what the doctor ordered. I pour myself a glass of coconut water (from a young coconut), I squeeze in some lime juice and throw in some mint leaves and voila!

DSC02285

And then there’s the added health benefits of coconut water. Seeing as it is a little after lunch, I know that it will aid in digestion because of its high fibre content. Coconut water is also mineral-rich and perfect for hydration (294 mg potassium and 5 mg natural sugar per glass). Not that I have blood pressure, but if I did, coconut water would be great in balancing the disproportionate amounts of electrolytes that could result in high blood pressure. It is also high in nutrients: calcium, magnesium, phosphorous, potassium and sodium.

“The health benefits of lime include weight loss, skin care, improved digestion, relief from constipation, eye care, and treatment of scurvy, piles, peptic ulcer, respiratory disorders, gout, gums, urinary disorders, etc” (organicfacts.com).

As for mint, apart from having a lovely refreshing taste, it also promotes digestion and is also used in treating nausea and headache. Mint is used for other medicinal purposes including coughs, asthma and allergies. But what I’m interested in is the fact that Mint acts as a natural stimulant and it should be great in recharging my batteries for higher brain function.

Back to work then!

Leave a Reply

